What is the MAC?

The Mail Administration Console (MAC) is the Web-based interface for administrating email accounts in the OpenSRS Email Service. This includes company information, domain information, workgroups, mailboxes, and other types of accounts. You can use the MAC to perform common administrative tasks for email, such as creating, deleting, and modifying users, and resetting passwords.

Logging in to the MAC

To log in to the MAC

  1. Use your browser to navigate to the MAC: https://admin.<cluster>.hostedemail.com
  2. Enter your administrator email address and password.
  3. Click OK.

When specifying the MAC address,you must include the cluster; currently, OpenSRS uses two clusters: A and B. If you do not know what cluster you are on, contact your Account Manager.

Whenever you log in to the MAC, the start page appears.

This page varies somewhat depending on your administrator level. For more information, see "Administrator levels" below.

Regardless of your administrator level, every page in the MAC displays the following:

  • Navigation pane—This is how you reach the different items that you administrate, for example, users, workgroups, and domains.
  • Administrator login—This displays your administrator email address. This is the address you use to log in.

 

 

Note: The MAC has a five minute time-out. If your session is idle for longer than five minutes, the MAC prompts you to re-authenticate. You can then resume your session.

The navigation pane

The navigation pane is your starting point for all the tasks that you perform with the MAC. The available items in the navigation pane depend on your level of administrative authority. For example, the  link does not appear if you are a domain-level administrator. (For more information, see "Administrator levels".) If you are a company-level administrator, the highest administration level available, the navigation pane includes the following sections:

  • Users—Use the links in this section to administrate user accounts.
  • Domains—Your company contains one or more domains, and each domain contains workgroups and user accounts. Use the links in this section to view and update domain information.
  • Company—Use this link to update your company information.
    Note: It is important to keep your company contact information current so that you can receive prompt access to Support and receive service interruption and maintenance activity notices, and other services.
  • Tools—Use the links in this section to create, modify, or delete multiple users, and to download mail from remote servers into existing email accounts.
  • Settings—Use this link to configure the appearance of the MAC itself, for example, to set the number of domains or users that you want to display on a page.
  • Logout—This link logs you out of the MAC.

Administrator levels

Administrative (or Admin) levels, are set at the user level when the user account is created or when it is modified using the screen. The default Admin level is .

There available levels of administrative privilege are:

  • Mail—Manages mailboxes within the domain for which they are administrators. Typical tasks may be changing passwords, setting forwarding, adding or removing aliases, and setting auto responders.
  • Workgroup—Creates, deletes, and manages mailboxes within any workgroups for which they are administrators.
  • Domain—Performs all functions of a workgroup administrator. In addition, they can add/remove workgroups and workgroup administrators as well as manage and brand their domain.
  • Company—Performs all functions of a domain administrator in all domains within their company, and can edit their company information and suspend users. They can also add or remove domains and create and assign administrators, including Company mail, Company read only, Company token only, and Company view admins.
  • Company_mail—Can view everything that a company administrator can, but can only edit mailbox settings. They cannot create or delete mailboxes or edit domain settings.
  • Company_mail2 Similar to company_mail administrator, but cannot change passwords or generate login tokens.
  • Company_ro (read only)—Can view everything that a company administrator can, but does not have the ability to make changes.
  • Company_token_only—Can generate SSO tokens for users in any domains in their company. This is their only responsibility; they cannot view or change settings for domains or users.
  • Company_view—Can view all domains in the company, and can make non-billable changes to mailboxes and domains, but does not have the ability to create or delete mailboxes or domains.

Settings

The  page allows you to control the way in which data is displayed in the MAC.

  • Entries Per Page—From the drop-down list, choose the number of entries per page that you want to display on search pages. The default is 25.
  • Pages Per Request—From the drop-down list, choose the number of results that will be fetched at a time during a search. A smaller number means more data loads during pagination when large numbers of results are present (mostly for large domains). A larger number means more data to page without reloading, but will cause the browser to use more memory. The default is 500.
  • Filtering Keeps Selection—If this feature is enabled. filtering determines which items are displayed in the results list, and any items that were previously selected remain selected (even though they might not be displayed in the list). For example, suppose you enable this feature and then select three users that you want to delete. You then  use the filters to locate and select a specific user. Although the three previously selected users are not displayed in the resulting list, they are still selected. If you look at the  button, you can see  which indicates the number of items marked for deletion.

 

 

Settings

 

When you click Delete Selected, all four of the selected users are deleted.

If you go through the same selection process as described above, but Filtering Keeps Selection is not enabled, when you refresh the display, the previously selected items are deselected and therefore are not included in the number of items to be deleted.

  • Language—From the drop-down list, choose the default language. Currently, the only available language is English.
  • Logging—Choose whether events are logged. If you check this box, everything is logged.
  • Initial Domain—If you have multiple domains, you can specify which one you want to display when you log in to the MAC.

Setting the current domain

Your company may have one domain, or it may have many. Whenever you work with workgroups or users, the MAC displays the workgroups and users that belong to only one domain - the current domain. To view the workgroups and users in another domain, you must first change the setting of the current domain.

To set the current domain

  1. In the navigation pane, under your company name, click Domains.
    The Domains page appears. This page lists all of the domains in your company.
    You can also locate a specific domain by searching for it.
  2. Click the domain that you want to set as the current domain.
    You can now work with the users and workgroups in this domain.

Alternatively, enter your search criteria in the Jump box at the top of the page, and press the Enter key. You can specify an exact match or you can use wildcards.

Logging out of the MAC

You should log out of the MAC whenever you are finished working with it or when you leave your workstation. For security reasons, the MAC logs you out automatically after five minutes of idle session time.

To log out of the MAC, in the navigation pane, click Logout

Was this article helpful? 0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request